New appointments to the Stadiums Queensland board

New appointments to the Stadiums Queensland board

Stadiums Queensland, which manages Queensland’s $1.2 billion stadia portfolio, has announced three new board members.

Sport Minister Stirling Hinchliffe said the new appointments would commence this month. 

“Managing Queensland’s stadiums is complex, and I am thankful we have been able to attract talented professionals to the Stadiums Queensland board,” Mr Hinchliffe said.

“Each of the new board members brings plenty of experience and will strengthen the board.

“The expertise of a strong Stadiums Queensland board is critically important following the International Olympic Committee vote to hold the 2032 Olympic and Paralympic Games in Brisbane.”

Stadiums Queensland chair, Ms Cathy McGuane said the three new appointees are Mr John Warn, Mr Peter Hyland and Ms Sharon Finnan-White OAM.

“John Warn is the Chief Operating Officer at hotel group Accor Pacific and former head of Sport, Media and Entertainment at global search and recruitment agency Odgers Berndtson and former chairman of Cricket NSW,” she said.

“John was also Chairman of Destinations NSW --- the lead tourism agency in New South Wales.

“Peter Hyland recently returned to Australia after working as the Regional Director of urban development specialist Cistri in Singapore and is one of the Asia-Pacific’s most respected urban land-use strategists. His experience spans Australia, the Asia Pacific, Europe and the Middle East.

“Peter is also a life member of the Property Council of Australia and a member of the Urban Land Institute.
“Sharon Finnan-White is an Aniwan and Biripi woman based in Townsville.

“She competed for Australia in netball, winning a Commonwealth Games medal in 1990 and two World Championships in 1991 and 1999.

“Sharon was the second Indigenous player to represent the Australian Diamonds, debuting in 1990 and retiring from the sport in 2000.

In February 2021 Sharon was announced a member of the inaugural Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Advisory Committee for Netball Queensland.”

Mr Hinchliffe and Ms McGuane thanked the retiring members – Mr John Grant, Mr Greg Webb and Ms Therese Smith ---- for their excellent service.

The new appointees join Ms Amanda Shircore, Mr Brendan O’Farrell and Ms Sharron Caddie who will continue on the board.